I had another think about my wine classification categories, and decided that I needed to change a couple of terms.  I wasn’t happy with the two Ss – Solid and Superb.  For a start, having two Ss is just confusing because in the future I want to be able to use the first letter of each classification to rate wine.  Solid – perhaps not the best word to use in connection with wine.  So now I’m going with the following:

Faulty – for wine that has a technical fault such as Brettanomyces or oxidation.

Turps – wine that isn’t faulty, but is shocking nonetheless.  To be drunk only in truly desperate situations, and even then only after couple of bottles of vodka.

Anaesthetic – it’s drinkable but only in those situations where you want to dull the pain of modern living.

Quaffing – finally things begin to look up.  A good quaffer is pleasant, very easy to drink, and is great at anytime.

Sound – a well made wine that has some depth and character.  A wine that does have something of its own personality.

Fine – Richness, smoothness, complexity, depth, amazing flavours, great mouth feel.  A wine you notice.

Exceptional – I don’t expect many wines to fall into the superb category, but it’s for those fine wines that go that bit further.

This gives me the letters: F T A Q S F X – I think that is a bit better.

