I haven’t blogged for a little while because I have been engaged in some serious research – Chardonnay.  Chardonnay is beautiful clay in the hands of a great winemaker – from cheap, silly, fruity plonk to the most glorious, complex, elegant wines.  My preferred style is a wine with good fruit and great length but with new French oak and a few years of age – just magnificent.  So what about the Mornington Peninsula?  These are some of the good ones I tracked down:

Myrtaceae: Very small winery, all hand made.

Stonier: Three excellent chardonnays on tasting when I visited including the Reserve ($45 AUD) and the Halcyon ($45 AUD).  Very much the style I enjoy – my favourite was the Halcyon.

Paringa: Three chardonnays – $22, $35 and $50 AUD.  Not so much oak as the Stonier – subtle.  My favourite was the Estate Chardonnay ($35 AUD).

Ten Minutes by Tractor:  A great place to be on a Saturday afternoon – full of the young, beautiful, well-heeled of Melbourne.  Fabulous restaurant, great brand work.

Kooyong: Very impressive architecture, excellent Kooyong 2008 Chardonnay.

Main Ridge:  If you’ve been to the five vineyards above you will have had some very impressive chardonnay – and then you try Main Ridge.  Simply one of the great wines of the world.

Honourable mentions for the cellar door staff – Emma at Kooyong and Matthew at Stonier – most excellent.  These wines are as big and flavoursome as the best reds.  Keep a mixed dozen in the boot of the car for those fabulous spur of the moment BYO occasions.

