Lunch – always my favourite meal of the day.  Lunch is less predictable than dinner.  It can be so many things – from a Croque Monsieur and a glass of beer to a stonking great six course affair with as many wines – and everything in between.  The other thing about lunch is that sometimes I get a strange, almost subconscious feeling as to what it should be, and usually around midday.  It happened to me a few weekends ago, on a Saturday.

I was driving home from the supermarket and there it was – popped into my mind from who knows where – Riesling.  But not just that – it had to be old Riesling to go with Quiche Lorraine.  There is one place for that kind of thing, a place I have written about before – the Vale Vineyard – but the “open” sign wasn’t outside the cellar door.  Now Riesling has many faces.  It can be aloof and austere, full of minerally, flinty flavours.  At the other end of the spectrum it can be a fruity glass of nonsense, like a cheeky party girl with a skirt that is just a little bit too short.  Fruity set me thinking about Fruilano, and there is only one place for that on the Peninsula – Quealy.

You never know what you’re going to find at Quealy.  There is always a buzz about the place – always something happening.  Kathleen Quealy was at the cellar door, and as there wasn’t a Fruilano open she very kindly got me a sample from one of the amphora.

What is this?  An amphora?  Well Quealy have had several shipped across from Italy and they are things of beauty.

The amphorae at Quealy Vineyard

The amphorae at Quealy Vineyard

I’m not sure what kind of a difference they make to the wine, but they are magnificent.

I was thwarted again – technical problems with a EFTPOS card reader seriously curtailed my retail purchasing capacity.  But that original thought hadn’t gone away – Riesling.  So I ended up calling Vale and in the way of all good cellar doors, it opened and dispensed old Riesling to the needy.

So now I am perfectly set up for a lunch of old Riesling and Quiche Lorraine, and then a snooze in front of the TV and “To Catch a Thief”.  If you’re going to see that wonderful old film anytime soon, look out for the scene where John Robie and H H Hughson are having lunch in Robie’s villa in the mountains – what is that wine they’re sharing?

The Vale Riesling 2005

The Vale Riesling 2005

And at a time when there are so many problems in the world, I give thanks that I can worry about what I’m going to have for lunch, rather than whether I’m going to get any at all.

