Proverb on the blackboard at Darling Park

Proverb on the blackboard at Darling Park

I recently had a very pleasant lunch time at Darling Park, tasting the wines and sampling the pizza and a salmon quiche.  The menu is quite simple, but every time we’ve eaten there it has been a good experience, and good value with their lunch plates typically under $20 each.  I particularly enjoyed the pizza. I think I was in that kind of mood.

The wine list at Darling Park

The wine list at Darling Park

As for the wines, I have to say the whites were ahead of the reds.  The stand out for me was the Olivarni Pinot Gris – rich, with a very subtle oily texture and flavours of pear and fig, just like their own tasting notes say.  The reds – well they didn’t do much for me at all, especially the 2011 reserve Pinot Noir at $48.  Like The Cups, I think they might be pushing their luck a little. The wines are definitely in the Sound category, but I couldn’t stretch them to the Fine on that showing.

Darling Park is well worth a visit.  The staff know their wines and are enthusiastic about them which is always a sign of an excellent cellar door. And you get the added bonus of the Bass & Flinders distillery (excellent gin).

