For many years, when it came to spraying my vineyard, I made do with an MTD Yardman lawn tractor, a little electric pump and a spray boom. Powdery mildew laughed at me. Downy mildew chortled from the canopy. I could hear it, giggling.  But not anymore, for now I have upped the stakes, taken the next step in the vineyard arms race and bought, not only a tractor, but a spray unit too.

Kubota L245DT and Silvan Suntuff Airblast sprayer

Kubota L245DT and Silvan Suntuff Airblast sprayer

Now this spray unit has a constant displacement oil backed diaphragm pump, an axial flow fan, screw mounted brass and ceramic nozzles, a 200 litre tank and is all driven from a PTO drive.  Ha!  The power, the absolute power!  I will be master of these accursed mildews.  There will be no limits to quality of my Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.  Burgundy – I laugh at your quaint terrior!  Yarra Valley – paff!  Domaine de la Romanée-Conti … I think I better stop there.  I’m getting strangely aroused …

